Not too little, not too much

Asparagus and Pea Soup 11/03/2010

Filed under: Cheese,Lunch,Soups,Vegetarian — Roxana GreenGirl {A little bit of everything} @ 19:57
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The weather is such a funny thing. If yesterday I could have sworn spring is coming, today I take my words back. The bloomed flowers call your name but the wind makes you stay inside and enjoy a warm cup of hot chocolate with mini marshmallows or/and a bowl of soup.  I’m happy at least on Halloween it was sunny, I even saw a butterfly on the side of the house

 

I can’t say I like winter, last year was the ugliest of all, it snowed up to 26 inches in less than 24 hours, and to top it, the power went out. All the hotels were jam-packed that weekend. The next day we went out for brunch and enjoyed a warm bowl of soup. I know you rarely eat soup for brunch but I felt i just need something to warm me up and give me strength to go on despite the cold weather. Don’t you agree that a warm bowl of soup  may brighten your day ? I do think so.

Back to my today’ soup, Asparagus and Pea soup with shavings of Asiago cheese

 

 

Ingredients

 

1 pound asparagus

lit less than 1/2 pound frozen peas

2 onions

2 carrots

2 tbsp butter

parsley

~ 1/2 cup heavy cream

Asiago cheese

1 bay leaf

salt, pepper

 

 

Directions

 

Cut the wooden parts of the asparagus and chop them roughly. Chop the carrots and 1 1/2 onions. Add them to a pot, add the bay leaf, pour over 6 cups of water, bring to boil and simmer for 30 minutes.

 

Melt the butter in another pan. Add the remaining chopped onion and cook over low heat 2-3 minutes.

 

Add the chopped asparagus stems (reserve some tips for garnish if you want), peas and asparagus stock.

Bring to a boil and simmer until the vegetables are tender. When almost done, add the parsley.

 

Cook for further 3-4 minutes and let in cool slightly. Puree the soup in a food processor or blender. Return to pan, add the heavy cream and heat it gently; do not boil.

 

Serve hot with blanched asparagus tips and shavings of Asiago cheese.