Not too little, not too much

Asparagus and Pea Soup 11/03/2010

Filed under: Cheese,Lunch,Soups,Vegetarian — Roxana GreenGirl {A little bit of everything} @ 19:57
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The weather is such a funny thing. If yesterday I could have sworn spring is coming, today I take my words back. The bloomed flowers call your name but the wind makes you stay inside and enjoy a warm cup of hot chocolate with mini marshmallows or/and a bowl of soup.  I’m happy at least on Halloween it was sunny, I even saw a butterfly on the side of the house

 

I can’t say I like winter, last year was the ugliest of all, it snowed up to 26 inches in less than 24 hours, and to top it, the power went out. All the hotels were jam-packed that weekend. The next day we went out for brunch and enjoyed a warm bowl of soup. I know you rarely eat soup for brunch but I felt i just need something to warm me up and give me strength to go on despite the cold weather. Don’t you agree that a warm bowl of soup  may brighten your day ? I do think so.

Back to my today’ soup, Asparagus and Pea soup with shavings of Asiago cheese

 

 

Ingredients

 

1 pound asparagus

lit less than 1/2 pound frozen peas

2 onions

2 carrots

2 tbsp butter

parsley

~ 1/2 cup heavy cream

Asiago cheese

1 bay leaf

salt, pepper

 

 

Directions

 

Cut the wooden parts of the asparagus and chop them roughly. Chop the carrots and 1 1/2 onions. Add them to a pot, add the bay leaf, pour over 6 cups of water, bring to boil and simmer for 30 minutes.

 

Melt the butter in another pan. Add the remaining chopped onion and cook over low heat 2-3 minutes.

 

Add the chopped asparagus stems (reserve some tips for garnish if you want), peas and asparagus stock.

Bring to a boil and simmer until the vegetables are tender. When almost done, add the parsley.

 

Cook for further 3-4 minutes and let in cool slightly. Puree the soup in a food processor or blender. Return to pan, add the heavy cream and heat it gently; do not boil.

 

Serve hot with blanched asparagus tips and shavings of Asiago cheese.

 

 

22 Responses to “Asparagus and Pea Soup”

  1. Julie M. Says:

    Yum! Cream soups are my weakness and this one looks really good!

  2. This soup looks wonderful. I love the texture. Asparagus is one of my favorite veggies;)

  3. I’ve always loved pea soup. It’s so uncommon though! I rarely find it served at a restaurant, or have it anywhere other than our house! I love your addition of asparagus and Asiago cheese…both of these could only make traditional pea soup better! Thanks for sharing🙂

  4. Monet Says:

    I am not a big fan of winter either…which is why I’m grateful we are living in Austin now! I totally agree that soup can be the perfect antidote to a cold day. This creamy bowl of asparagus and pea soup looks delicious!

  5. mangocheeks Says:

    Lovely.

    My husband loves asparagus

    I have yet to try Asiago cheese. Does look good over that velvety soup.

  6. I’ll have to enjoy spring vicariously through you as we are quickly approaching winter! This soup would be perfect to warm up with (if only asparagus were in season here!)

  7. fooddreamer Says:

    This is such a beautiful soup. And I agree, sometimes soup goes beyond warming the body, it warms the soul!

  8. I would like a little winter and some of that asparagus & pea soup, please! (Plus asiago is one of my fave cheeses) It’s 96 degrees in the beach areas here!

  9. I always love your soup recipes. You’re the soup master! And that shot of the butterfly…pretty (=

  10. Oh creamy soups are perfect for fall! This looks fantastic!

  11. claudia Says:

    whata fabulous soup here lovet he color and photo are awesome very nice!

  12. Dimah Says:

    Beautiful photos and the soup looks fantastic too!

  13. What a wonderful combination of peas, and asparugus. Love the Asiago cheese too. A nice comforting soup for cooler weather…here in S. Florida as well. 61 degrees right now in WP.Beach.

    Thanks for bringing the problem re: my blog. I had the same msg. telling me that foodandthriftinds does not exist…lol…the worst problem was when it mentioned you can register for the name. What’s that all about!???
    Will check into it!

  14. Michael Toa Says:

    What a beautiful soup. Love asparagus and peas.
    Thank you for the nice comment at Chef Dennis’ blog. I look forward to reading more of your delicious posts. have a great weekend. Michael

  15. delicious looking soup! u have a very lovely space here with fab recipes, great writeup and awesome presentation! Few of ur recipes have been bookmarked. great work!!🙂

  16. I could do with a bowl of this now! I know what you mean about the weather, it’s been so warm and yet today just turned cold. This soup would warm me up a treat!

  17. I love soups in the fall and winter! Asparagus, peas, cream, & cheese is such a nice combination. Looks & sounds delicious!

  18. norma Says:

    This is my kind of soup…earthy and comforting.

  19. Mmmmmm soup….and look at all those veggies in there!

  20. You always have the most delicious soups! Beautiful flavors and very comforting🙂
    Sorry my last comment was after reading both posts, lol
    I read then go to comment…bad habit but at least I am actually reading:)
    Sorry if it was confusing…

    • Sommer Jones Says:

      i am one of the weirdos who enjoy the dark weather. I don’t enjoying freezing temps, and loads of snow. But just enough cold, mixed in with some irregularly cold days are great for me!

      And boy does this soup look flavorful! I’ve been wanting to make this combo for a while!

      Also wanted to say thanks for visiting my blog!!! It’s been taking me days to catch-up, so be prepared for a sudden influx hehe.

  21. mmm, this looks amazing. i love the combination of peas and asparagus along with the asiago….yum!


Leave a Reply

