Not too little, not too much

Chocolate – Peanut Butter Cake 06/09/2010

Few days ago was my princess anniversary and again i spoiled my family with a cake
Ingredients and directions
Filling
2 1/4 cups heavy whipping cream

1/2 cup (packed) golden brown sugar

340 gr  bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate, finely chopped

1/2 cup  chunky peanut butter

Bring cream and sugar to simmer in saucepan, whisking to dissolve sugar.

Remove from heat. Add to chocolate; let stand 1 minute.

Whisk until smooth.

Whisk in peanut butter. Chill uncovered overnight.

Cake

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

10 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 cup chunky peanut butter

450 gr golden brown sugar

4 large eggs

1 sachet vanilla sugar

1 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter three 9-inch-diameter cake pans

Sift first 4 ingredients into medium bowl.

Using electric mixer, beat butter and peanut butter in large bowl until blended.

Beat in sugars.

Beat in eggs, 1 at a time.

At low-speed, beat in flour mixture alternately with buttermilk.  Start and finish with dry ingredients. Add 1-2 tablespoon buttermilk if needed.

Divide batter among pans and spread evenly.

Bake cakes until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 25 minutes. Cool cakes 5 minutes. Turn out onto racks. Cool cakes completely.

Frosting

340 gr cream cheese, room temperature

1 cup powdered sugar

3/4 cup powdered sugar

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature

1 sachet vanilla sugar

3/4 cup chilled heavy whipping cream

Using electric mixer, beat cream cheese, 1 cup powdered sugar, butter, and vanilla in large bowl to blend.

Whisk whipping cream and 3/4 cup powdered sugar in bowl until mixture holds medium-firm peaks.

Fold into cream cheese mixture in 3 additions; chill until firm but spreadable, about 1 hour.

Assembling the cake

Place 1 cake layer. Spread with half of filling. Place another layer. Spread with remaining filling. Top with remaining cake layer. Spread frosting over top and sides of cake.

 

60 Responses to “Chocolate – Peanut Butter Cake”

  1. Lynn Says:

    This looks ridiculously good!

  2. Monet Says:

    This cake looks amazing! I would love to take a bite or two…or maybe eat the entire thing. Yum!

  3. Patty Price Says:

    Wow, you have it going on green girl, great photos and cake, thanks for adding me as a friend, look forward to seeing your posts, you’re making me hungry right now for some for your amazing cake!

  4. Chef Dennis Says:

    wowser!!!! that is an incredible cake!!! not only is it beautiful but it has got to be soooooo very very tasty!!! Cut me off a large slice please!!
    thanks so much for sharing!!

  5. The cake looks incredibly delicious and great presentation. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Amazing cake…Love. love, love it:)

  7. I love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate. This is a cake after my heart. Looks wonderful!

  8. Sara Says:

    This looks so goooood!!!!!!

  9. Kathleen Says:

    This cake looks absolutely delicious!

  10. Cream cheese as a frosting! Interesting! I have never seen it done. I see that the days of baking early are long gone… *hopes…

    • Green Girl Says:

      I like cream cheese frosting, I’m not that crazy after royal icing or fondant. You never know, maybe baking early in the morning might come back

  11. Such a beautiful cake~

  12. You are killing me with this cake. I might make this for my daughter’s birthday if they don’t eat all the peanut butter. I live in Bulgaria, so peanut butter is one of the items we have to ration. Thanks for sharing!

    • Green Girl Says:

      I made it for my daughter anniversary 🙂 I was born in Romania and as I hear lately they have to ration everything, not good news 😦

  13. Jessie Says:

    Wow. Wow WOW. This looks incredible!!!!! I made a few chocolate peanut butter cakes recently http://www.themessiekitchen.com/search/label/Peanut%20Butter but this one just… wow. I’m speechless!

  14. Completely unreal! It looks like a Willy Wonka cake…who could resist!

  15. That is one fabulous looking cake – love the way you’ve decorated it and for goodness sake, who doesn’t like chocolate and PB????

  16. joy Says:

    I love anything with chocolate and peanuts. This looks so good. This is one recipe I’m going to save.

  17. That is definitely a dreamy looking cake!! Yum YUM YUM!!!

  18. My o my! This is such decadence! I could eat the picture right off the screen! Bookmarked for the next birthday cake I make! 🙂

  19. Rachel Says:

    That looks so decadent and rich!!! I should make this for my coworkers sometime soon.

  20. lillihaskell Says:

    Oh my that is one beautiful cake!! I bet it was delicious. Thanks for posting the recipe I will definitely have to make this for my peanut butter and chocolate-loving family 🙂

  21. polwig Says:

    This looks so good… great job decorating.

  22. Chef Dennis Says:

    you may have to bake another cake with all these great comments!! I see you got a 99 buzz too!! very much deserved, keep up the good work!

  23. pansy Says:

    de aratat arata grozav,cred ca e si foarte buna,imi place ,dar acum sunt in mare graba,am retinut reteta ,e pe gustul meu,cel putin la prima citire.keep in touch !

  24. Oh that is a gorgeous cake! looks like it comes straight from the bakery, so beautiful.

  25. Debbie Says:

    This is amazing looking, I like that its peanut butter cake and chocolate icing!

  26. I will take one, please … no, no, two. This looks incredible! Your picture of the sifting flour is incredible, you were able to capture the flecks of flour beautifully.

  27. This cake would definitely satisfy my sweet tooth and love of chocolate & pb. 🙂 It’s a very cute cake… and happy belated anniversary!

    • Green Girl Says:

      Thanks, I thought it would satisfy my family needs too and now I’m looking to make something because the cake is long gone 🙂

  28. The layers in this cake make it gorgeous! And I love how you document each step with photography. This is a great blog!

  29. The cake looks amazing.
    Love the sifting flour photo.
    LL

  30. […] 10. Chocolate – Peanut Butter Cake […]

  31. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Dionne Baldwin. Dionne Baldwin said: Sometimes I wish Yannick would eat peanut butter…. http://fb.me/NP7Vqg8b […]


Leave a comment