Not too little, not too much

Cheesy Squash Soup 12/27/2010

Filed under: Cheese,Lunch,Soups,Squash,Vegetarian — Roxana GreenGirl {A little bit of everything} @ 18:02
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Christmas is over. I hope everyone had a wonderful time and receive plenty of gifts.

Our Christmas was white as I wished for, plenty of laughs and lots of good food. The only sad part is that my camera broke down and we don’t have any pictures 😦

Until I get my dream camera (Easter Bunny, I’ve been really really good) is going to be a while   😛 . I can’t stay that long without a camera so meanwhile I have to improvise. I was looking at a cheaper Canon, something to hold me over for 3-4 months but still haven’t decided yet. If you have any suggestions, I’d be more than happy to take them into consideration.

Lucky me, I still have some recipes I haven’t shared with you yet. Today I’m going to post a delicious creamy soup made from one on my decorative Halloween squashes :)). I still have 2 peanut squashes waiting to be cooked. Yummy.

For this soup I used an Australian heirloom Blue squash, correct me if I’m wrong.

The idea of this soup came from Maya‘s  Creamy Patisson Squash Soup with Reblochon Cheese but I just couldn’t find a Patisson squash anywhere so I took matter into my own hands and came up with Creamy Blue Squash Soup with Comté Cheese or Cheesy Squash Soup 😛

Ingredients

2 lbs winter squash (mine was bigger, the rest was baked and mashed)

2 carrots

2 leeks

2 celery ribs

3 tbsp butter

6 oz Comté Cheese

stock

salt, pepper, nutmeg

Directions

Melt the butter and add the chopped carrots, leeks and celery ribs . Pour 1/2 cup stock over them.

Cook until soft.

Meanwhile clean the squash

When the vegetables are soft, add the chopped squash and cover with stock

Simmer until the squash is cooked. Season with nutmeg, salt and pepper and let cool slightly.

Puree the soup

Return the soup to the pan, add the shredded Comte cheese and heat gently.

Serve hot sprinkled with more cheese (optional).

closer view

 

Few days before Christmas I submitted my blog to AllTop and they already listed it, yeeee

 

 

This recipe goes to

hearthandsoulgirlichef

Thanks for reading, appreciate your support,

Roxana.

 

23 Responses to “Cheesy Squash Soup”

  1. Fabulous, love a good pumpkin soup. We call this pumpkin the Queensland Blue pumpkin 😉 Its a good tasty standby, but you’ve got to work a bit with the peeling of it huh. Your soup looks just fabulous and perfect for a cold winters day. Glad you got snow at Christmas time. Enjoy the holidays too OK.

  2. Wendy Irene Says:

    Sorry to hear about your camera 😦 The soup does look amazing and I LOVE how it snows on your site!

  3. girlichef Says:

    I am totally making goo-goo eyes at that squash…it’s so gorgeous. I looove the sound of this soup 🙂

  4. I, surprisingly, have never cooked with squash before. This looks like a perfect starting recipe 🙂 I hope you had a great Christmas and are still enjoying the holiday season 🙂

  5. katie Says:

    This soup looks fantastic! I hope you are able to replace your camera soon.

  6. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Caterham Business. Caterham Business said: Cheesy Squash Soup http://bit.ly/gzK9Sb […]

  7. So sorry to hear about your camera! I LOVE your soup! Super yummy.
    🙂 Mandy

  8. Miz Helen Says:

    We grow a lot of squash and this soup looks amazing. We will be trying your recipe very soon. Thank you for sharing and Happy New Year!

  9. Brindusa Says:

    Am trecut pe la tine ca sa-ti urez un An Nou fericit, cu sanatate si multe retete gustoase!

  10. I’m so sorry about your camera! A camera is a must for us food bloggers! I will keep good thoughts that the right camera comes your way. 🙂

    In the meantime, I love this healthy soup and have just the right squash waiting in the frig.

    Kristi

  11. I can’t stop looking at the photos- it looks delicious!

  12. After seeing your recipe and pics….your soup would have been the perfect end to the COLD weekend we had. Great comfort food! Thanks for sharing with the Hearth and Soul hop.

  13. It looks so warm n comforting

  14. Chef Dennis Says:

    hi Roxana
    so sorry to hear about your camera….I can’t imagine life with out it now.
    Your squash soup was such a wonderful post, its perfect for this time of year and I bet it was delicious!
    Dennis

  15. A cheesy soup like this is what I need on cold nights like tonight! I think it looks fabulous! I never heard of that site before. Congrats for being listed on it!! I will check it out. Happy New Year:)

  16. Aipi Says:

    You can tell a good soup from its color and yours looks fabulous..thick and cheesy, perfect for sitting on the couch with a hot bowl and watching a movie on a cold evening 🙂

    US Masala

  17. magicofspice Says:

    Sorry about your camera 😦 Sounds like you had a lovely Christmas though 🙂
    This is such a wonderful soup and I adore cheesy soups 🙂
    I hope you and your family have a most wonderful New Year!

  18. Kristina Says:

    I’m making butternut squash soup this wk!!! Glad to have stumbled upon your blog-may have to steal part of your recipe:)

  19. Julie M. Says:

    Roxana,

    This soup looks delicious! So healthy and hearty as well. A perfect wintertime treat.

    Have you looked at craigslist at all? Maybe you can find a camera for less there that can tide you over for a few months until you can get a new one. I’m in need of a new one as well. My birthday is in February so I’m asking the birthday bunny to bring me one. 🙂

  20. fooddreamer Says:

    Booooo on the broken camera. But glad you have a couple of recipes up your sleeve to share. This soup looks wonderful, I definitely want to try it!

  21. this is a good one–for keeps !loved it !

  22. Claudia Says:

    That pumpkin was a lovely thing. Looks like it came to a very good end though. I usually do a curried pumpkin soup, but I like your cheesy version and will have to try next.

  23. Thank you for posting this. Squash intimidates me for some reason, but seeing even just a few step by step photos with instructions makes me feel a little more comfortable trying new ideas.


Leave a comment