Not too little, not too much

Brussels Sprouts au Gratin and Green Vegetable Soup 12/11/2010

As much as I love green, no, I didn’t cook both today, just the soup.  The Brussels sprouts au gratin I baked the other day just didn’t have the time to resize the photos and post it.

I like Brussels sprouts, mostly roasted sprinkled with a pinch of nutmeg but lately that’s the only way I had them so I decided to make a gratin. Sounded good and tasted way better than I imagined. I know lots of people who don’t like these tiny cabbages and I don’t understand why. Brussels sprouts are high in vitamin C and are a good source of folate and vitamin A (beta-carotene). They are cruciferous vegetables and contain phytochemicals that may help prevent cancer.

 

Brussels Sprouts au Gratin

 

Ingredients

lit over 1 pound Brussels sprouts

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup heavy cream

few garlic cloves

1 oz grated Parmesan

1 Tbsp butter

salt and pepper

 

Directions

Mix the milk, heavy cream, Parmesan, finely chopped garlic, salt and pepper. Slice the Brussels sprouts

Butter 2 casseroles, divide the sliced Brussels sprouts between them and pour over the milk/cream mixture.

Bake in preheated oven (350 F) for about 45-50 minutes or until they are soft and start to brown on top.

 

 

Now, the soup.

 

I have a problem with my fridge. If  the vegetables are left outside the fridge drawers they freeze although the thermostat is set as low as it can be. The same goes for eggs if I don’t place them on one of the door’ shelves.

Last night my husband decided to make himself a salad and trying to get everything out of the drawers he put some vegetables on the fridge shelves and forgot them there. This morning when I opened the fridge to make breakfast, surprise, I had 3 frozen zucchini and 2 frozen broccoli crowns. Well, what was I supposed to say, nothing would make them fresh again. While we were enjoying our breakfast I remembered a broccoli-zucchini soup I had once and since we were out of soup the memory came in handy.

I melted some butter and sauté 2 chopped leeks and 2 celery ribs.

 

Meanwhile I chopped the zucchini, broccoli and 5 Brussels sprouts. Added them to the pot and covered with stock.

When the vegetables were cooked I let them cool slightly and purée the soup. Returned it to the pot and added 1 cup Greek yogurt.

Serve warm to hot with more yogurt.

Linking this to

 

hearthandsoulgirlichef

 

12 Responses to “Brussels Sprouts au Gratin and Green Vegetable Soup”

  1. fooddreamer Says:

    I love the brussel au gratin and am very glad to find it’s not made with bread crumbs. I wonder if I could sell my husband on this? He hates brussels! Both recipes look wonderful!

  2. So much green, I love it! I much make that brussels sprout gratin. We love brussels so much in our house.

  3. norma Says:

    I just made my BS’s with brown sugar, butter and cashews. Your cheesy version is comforting….

  4. Aipi Says:

    What an exciting new recipe..must try!

    US Masala

  5. Goodness this post just made my day! I absolutely LOVE roasted brussel sprouts, and I can only imagine how delicious they’d be baked up with some cheese in your au gratin casserole. What a warm, comfort-food recipe…just perfect for the season 🙂

  6. Aaahhh, don’t you just love it when the fridge gets all weird and you have to follow its rules…, but still…. you wouldn’t have shown us this yummy soup otherwise, so there’s an upside right! The Brussels Sprouts sound wonderful.

  7. I should like brussels sprouts more. Maybe with the melty cheese… 🙂

  8. I love brussel sprouts and your au gratin sounds fabulous as does your soup. Yummy.
    🙂 Mandy

  9. looks swell– please pass the bowl !

  10. I love the nutty brown color of your brussel sprouts. I have a pile of them waiting in the frig to give this a try!

  11. girlichef Says:

    I adore brussels sprouts…and these look extra amazing…I’ve never put them in a gratin before, what a great idea! And the soup is just what I need to warm me up right now. Everything sounds delicious, thanks so much for sharing them w/ the hearth and soul hop this week!

  12. Claudia Says:

    My husband loves brussels sprouts, but only steamed or boiled. Maybe I can sneak these in on him. It might make a convert; they look so good, I might even like them.


Leave a comment