Not too little, not too much

Dinner Rolls (tutorial) 12/05/2010

Filed under: Baking,Breads — Roxana GreenGirl {A little bit of everything} @ 22:44
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Thank you for all the wonderful comments you left on my guest post and thank you once again Chef Dennis for the invitation. Tonight I’m not going to write much since my post has 28 photos, yes 28, I do apologize for the length.

Today I’d like to share with you a photo tutorial on how to shape dinner rolls.

 

The dough is the same one I used for these dinner rolls (you can use whatever dough you are familiar with). I’m  going to start my tutorial from the moment the dough is divided in 12 balls.

(How to make) knots

Roll the ball into a 12 inches long rope. Tie a knot by pulling the ends through.

 

(How to make) spiral rolls

Roll the ball into a  20 inches long rope. Shape into a tight spiral tucking under the end.

 

(How to make) two spiral rolls

Roll the ball into a 24 inches long rope. Shape into a tight spiral from both ends.

 

(How to make) twisted rolls

Roll the ball into a 24 inches long rope. Twist in and shape it into a spiral roll.

(How to make) twisted braids

Roll the ball into a 20 inches long rope. Twist it. Pinch the ends together.

 

(How to make)  braids

Roll the ball into a 30 inches long rope.  Divide it in three and braid them neatly but not too tight. Pinch the ends together and tuck them under the braid.

 

(How to make) epi

Shape the ball into an oblong. Using scissors, make alternative diagonal cuts halfway through the dough.

 

(How to make) bagels

With your thumb poke a hole in the center of the ball. Pull gently to enlarge hole.

 

(How to make) cottage rolls

Divide the dough into 3/4 and 1/4. Shape them into balls. With your thumb, make a small well in the middle on the big ball. Place the small ball on top.

 

(How to make) clover leaf rolls

Divide the ball into 3 even sized balls. Place the three balls together in a triangle shape.

 

How to make baguettes

Roll the ball into an oblong. With a knife cut through the dough diagonally.

 

(How to make) cross-cut rolls

With the tip of a knife cut a cross through the dough.

 

 

Fresh from the oven.

 

Soooo good

 

 

 

33 Responses to “Dinner Rolls (tutorial)”

  1. I love this post! The pictures were all so helpful and your rolls look delicious 🙂

  2. Karen Says:

    Great tutorial. Helpful to have step-by-step for those of us non-bread-makers! The finished products look absolutely gorgeous!

  3. Thi Says:

    These are adorable! The step-by-step is so helpful. I’ll definitely try some out when I tackle making dinner rolls next.

  4. truly awesome ! loved the tutorial thoroughly !

  5. Love this! I’m going to go make a bread variety right now!

  6. Dimah Says:

    Great post! These look so awesome!

  7. briarrose Says:

    Wonderful post. Beautiful rolls.

  8. Elizabeth Says:

    Those dinner rolls look amazing. Saving the recipe. Perfect for my dinner party this Saturday.

  9. Sandra Says:

    Great looking rolls and very helpful post. Thank you for taking the time to do this.

  10. Wendy Irene Says:

    After seeing all of those beautiful creations I totally want to try making a few of them now! I really enjoyed all the pictures. Pictures are one of my favorite parts 😉 Have a wonderful day!

  11. Monet Says:

    This has to be the BEST roll tutorial I’ve seen (and believe me, I’ve looked through quite a few!) I’m bookmarking this page, and I will be sending it to all my baking buddies. Wonderful work. Thank you so much for sharing! I hope you have a peace-filled day.

  12. Kori Says:

    Oh my gosh, how fun! I love how creative you were with the shapes. Totally great ideas!!!

  13. How cool! Your dinner rolls honestly look professionally done–they as though they came straight from the bakery. Thanks for the tutorial–I love that you created a variety of shapes, as opposed to one single style.

    Love it!

  14. pansy Says:

    my green girl,tare mestera mai esti ! treci pe la mine sa vezi cum au iesit ale mele facute dupa reteta ta ! pupu-te inca o data !!!!!

  15. Liv Wan Says:

    Aw…..I love all these dinner rolls and thank you for the detail procedures photos. Now i know what should I make for my dinner tonight. Thank you very much for sharing this great post.

  16. norma Says:

    Thanks for the lessons

  17. Chef Dennis Says:

    you are amazing!!! I never knew how to shape rolls, this is a perfect tutorial!!! wow, thanks for teaching the old chef how to make rolls! (my wife will thank you!)
    cheers
    Dennis

  18. fooddreamer Says:

    This is really helpful to me as I am one of the people who never takes the time to make things look as good as they should. You’ve inspired me!
    BTW, on my cranberry bliss bars, if you want to make with sugar, then put in about 1 cup, and omit stevia and erythtritol. For the glaze, put in 1/2 cup or so of powdered sugar.

  19. gingerbreadbagels Says:

    Wow, what gorgeous looking rolls! I love how many different kinds of rolls you made. The tutorial is so helpful, I can’t wait to make some of these for Christmas! 🙂

  20. just found your blog, and i have to say this is absolutely brilliant!!!! wow!! what an awesome blogpost! i definitely want to make all of these

  21. Wow this is such a great tutorial! Thanks for sharing this, it will really come in handy. The photo with all of the rolls together is so pretty.

  22. oh my..oh my…superb…amazing…no words to express..perfectly done….

  23. I cannot keep myself from coming again again into ur blog..lovely..

  24. Thanks for your visit to my blog!!….you have very good recipes, and I love this dinner-rolls tutorial!!…..I was editing my recipe when you left a comment, it is 3 teaspoon of baking powder in the Thumbprint cookies (the little ones)….Apologies….English is my second language and sometimes Murphy law appears in my translations….:)….Have a great week!!…..Abrazotes, Marcela

  25. beautiful shapes lovely pictures

  26. Sweet angel of mercy! I want to frame that first photo and hang it on a wall! What a fantastic tutorial, especially pertinent right before the holidays. You make a mean bread braid, girl!! This is one of the best blog posts I’ve seen in some time. Gotta follow!

  27. FOODESSA Says:

    We can never pout when there are great photos that speak volumes!

    Roxana…the rolls look incredibly appetizing and now I can see how you got them to look that way ;o)

    Ciao for now and flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

  28. OMG! I just posted dinner rolls today. When it’s compared to your creative shaped rolls, mine is like elementary school dinner rolls!!

  29. There can never be too many pictures when they are helpful, and taken well. Great job.

  30. Maranda Says:

    What a great tutorial! Your rolls look beautiful!

  31. beautiful!! Thanks for the quick tutorial for the different designs. 🙂

  32. […] Shape each ball as you wish or as shown HERE […]


Leave a comment