Not too little, not too much

Red Quinoa and Cauliflower Salad 10/17/2010

Filed under: Appetizers,Cheese,Fruits,Salads,Vegetarian — Roxana GreenGirl {A little bit of everything} @ 22:14
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Quinoa (a name supposedly derived from the Spanish word for “fantastic”) is not really a grain. It is the fruit of a plant that belongs to the same botanical family as beets. The quinoa plant reaches a height of 3 to 10 feet and produces flat, pointed seeds that range from buff to russet to black. So why all the praise for quinoa? Quinoa is relatively easy to cultivate and withstands poor soil conditions and altitude. It also packs a nutritional punch in its tiny seeds. It contains more protein than most grains and offers a more evenly balanced array of amino acids, the building blocks of protein. It is higher in minerals, such as calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, potassium, copper, zinc, and iron, than many grains. Quinoa seeds can be cooked or ground into flour. Several types of pasta are made from quinoa flour. The leaves of the plant also are edible, and the seeds can be sprouted and eaten.

Preparation Tips

Quinoa is cooked in the same way as rice, although it cooks in about half the time. Its flavor is delicate, and some describe it as hazelnut-like. Before cooking, it is important to rinse quinoa seeds until the water runs clear. They are covered with a bitter, powdery resin that can result in an unpleasant taste if it is not removed. Quinoa flour has a low gluten content. It cannot be used alone in baked goods because they will not rise properly.

Serving Suggestions

Quinoa is cooked like rice and makes an excellent substitute for it. “Toasting” the quinoa grains in a hot skillet before boiling gives it a roasted flavor. Adding cooked vegetables and fresh herbs also complements its delicate flavor. Quinoa flour can be used in many baked goods. Quinoa also makes an excellent hot cereal and can be added to soups and stews. Quinoa pasta is cooked and used like traditional types of pasta.

Encyclopedia of Foods

 

Red Quinoa and Cauliflower Salad

 

 

Ingredients

1 medium cauliflower

red quinoa

walnuts

dried apricots

feta cheese

green onion

parsley

 

Directions

 

Blanch the cauliflower and boil the quinoa.

 

Meanwhile, crumble the cheese and chop the rest of the ingredients.

 

Mix them all together, sprinkle with some extra virgin olive oil and season to taste.

 

 

Serve warm or cold.

 

 

 

10 Responses to “Red Quinoa and Cauliflower Salad”

  1. Ugh frustrated because the images aren’t showing, but I think it is my computer. I had quinoa for the first time about a year ago with a salmon dish and had to look up what it was. For the past year I have been pronoucing it wrong… but luckily my roommate corrected me before I said it in public. It is so tasty but I have never tried to prepare it myself.

  2. Monet Says:

    I adore cauliflower, and I have a head sitting in my refrigerator, just waiting to be used! You never fail to inspire me…this is going to be made in the next few days before I leave for Tampa. Thank you for sharing with me.

  3. norma Says:

    I think cauliflower is the in vegetable at the moment. I make it very often and this recipe isperfect for my vegetarian client. You rock!

  4. Susi Says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! This is a very informative post, I really learned a lot about quinoa which I don’t nearly use often enough. The recipe sounds delicious and might just be the incentive needed to cook with it :o)

  5. Wow! I’m so glad I found your blog. Thank you for you nice comment on my blog. I’ve had quinoa only once, but it was a boring simple and plain recipe. Yours is so vivid with color, and the flavors are just bursting, including the steam from the pan. Your step-by-step instructions are really appreciated. I will try out this recipe. So pretty, and healthy!

  6. What a fun array of ingredients. The dried apricots sound like they would add a delicious twists on this recipe!

  7. Carolyn Says:

    I love cauliflower and I love quinoa, and now I love the idea of them together! With all the whole grain, fiber goodness in this salad, I think I could eat a good portion without sending my glucose levels sky high. I am bookmarking this one!

  8. I love quinoa. Thanks for the background info! Your salad looks beautiful – I love the white cauliflower with the red quinoa!

  9. I’m so glad you found me on Foodbuzz! I love healthy eating and whole foods. Your blog looks right up my alley.

  10. Patty Price Says:

    This cauliflower red quinoa salad just looks out of this world delicious to me, I love quinoa but need to try the red variety, I think it’s beautiful. Thanks for paying my blog a visit and leaving a sweet comment, take care and have a nice week:)


Leave a comment