Not too little, not too much

Cheesy Stuffed Bell Peppers 10/23/2010

Filed under: Latin America,Main dish,Mexican,Vegetarian — Roxana GreenGirl {A little bit of everything} @ 19:50
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

My plan was to make stuffed eggplants or stuffed carnival squash but, if there is one thing I’m good at that would be changing my mind in a heart beat. Since I had 6 bell peppers in the fridge, the first idea was to stuff them with rice and raisins, then with rice and other vegetables and other few combinations. In the end I remembered that I ate once at a Mexican restaurant peppers stuffed with beans. But I didn’t have Poblano peppers so why not use regular peppers instead? This is how a memory turned into a delicious and satisfying meal.

 

Ingredients

4 bell peppers

1  1/2 onion

1 1/2 tomato

few garlic cloves

1/2 to 1 cup shredded cheddar

2 eggs

corn oil

2/3 cup dried beans*

 

cook the dry beans with 1/2 onion, 1/2 tomato, thyme and 1 Jalapeño or Serrano pepper. when cooked remove the onion, tomato, pepper and thyme springs.

 

Directions

Turn on the broiler and roast the bell peppers until the skin get black and blistered. Meanwhile heat some oil and cook the onion and garlic for few minutes or until soft.

 

Add the tomatoes and cook few more minutes.

 

 

Remove from the heat and add the beans. Season to taste and mash almost half of them.

 

 

Back to the peppers. Remove the skin and seeds.

 

and fill them with the beans mixture.

 

 

Break the eggs and beat them lightly with a pinch of salt and pepper and mix with the cheese. Pour over the peppers.

 

Bake at 350F for about 30 minutes until the egg is set and cheese melts.

 

 

Serve hot

 

 

9 Responses to “Cheesy Stuffed Bell Peppers”

  1. Monet Says:

    Wow! This looks so good. I’ve made stuffed peppers many a times, but I’ve never thought of cracking an egg over top. Brilliant! I’m going to try to get my hand on some pepper tomorrow so that I can give this a try. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Yesim Says:

    woow.. it looks really yummy…

  3. Delicious! And I love that you bake them in their own individual dishes (the polka dots are a nice touch!). I also love that you used beans–I’m definitely going to try that next time we make stuffed peppers–we always just use rice, but I have no doubt that I would prefer beans.

    Great recipe! Thanks for sharing🙂

  4. First off, I love your little cute dishes! Secondly, this makes want a stuffed pepper asap. I love all colors of peppers and like that they each taste differently.

  5. fooddreamer Says:

    These look incredibly delicious. I am quite glad you changed your mind about what you were cooking!

  6. FOODESSA Says:

    I change my menu ideas all the time…funny how we end up with fabulous results. Very nice recipe and I like the way you served it ;o)

    BTW…Your visit was much appreciated…nice to make your acquaintance once more from CES ;o)

    Flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

  7. You’re making me hungry !!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. elra Says:

    Delicious bell pepper, nutritious and delicious too. Love the vibrant color of your picture !

  9. norma Says:

    Don’t you just love it when you have an idea for a recipe and then you create something else. This looks very comforting and delicious.


Leave a Reply

