Not too little, not too much

Stuffed Mushroom 10/21/2010

Filed under: Appetizers,Breakfast,Eggs — Roxana GreenGirl {A little bit of everything} @ 12:52
Tags: , , ,

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, right? How often do you hear that and how often do you skip breakfast or have it on the run? I’m not the pancake lover so for me breakfast meant a slice of cake or granola/cereals with milk. Lately I started to eat eggs in different combinations : poached, fried, omelet, scrambled even baked, like today. Most of the time I like my eggs with mushrooms or with lots of cheese, and I mean a lot.

I may have already said that my husband is the pickiest eater I’ve ever seen, mushrooms are one of the NO, NO, NO type of food. Few months ago he wouldn’t even accept the idea of buying them but as our daughter grew and she stared eating solid foods I talked with her doctor and came up with a list of what and when to give her. Mushrooms were on the list along with chicken, beef and turkey. Since we are pescatarians, only the thought of having meat in the house was a little too weird, but after few days we got used that our daughter might eat meat. Now that the meat problem was solved (I thought back then, later I discovered that Tiffany doesn’t like meat either) what about mushrooms, I asked. My husband wasn’t too thrilled with the idea, but, in the end, he gave in😛. This is how i started eating mushrooms again.  Now don’t jump with joy, I don’t eat mushrooms when we all are having breakfast together, but only when he is way too busy (lately it does happen a lot) and his main meal of the day is taken in a rush and consists of a cup of black coffee and a fruit.

Few days ago I bought some Portobello mushrooms thinking of stuffing them for me and Tiffany. Some of them were sautéed along with other vegetables and few magically became my breakfast.

 

This complex recipe😛 I made it few days ago and again today.

Ingredients

1 Portobello mushroom

1 egg

salt, pepper

 

Directions

 

Clean the mushroom

 

Break the egg

 

 

Season with salt and pepper and bake at 400F for about 5-10 minutes depending on how you like your egg (I’m not a big fan of runny eggs)

 

 

 

20 Responses to “Stuffed Mushroom”

  1. What a delicious and healthy breakfast idea. It looks really good…

  2. I love mushrooms, but I have never thought of eating them with an egg for breakfast. Great idea!

  3. What an amazing idea. So pretty to look at, and so yummy!

  4. Ooh this looks like such a tasty and original breakfast! So original!

  5. This is a super recipe. I would like to try it now. Yum!!:)

  6. Kocinera Says:

    I officially love this breakfast idea! It looks so easy and so delicious. I can’t wait to give this a try! Yum!

  7. Monet Says:

    This is inspired! My husband is not a picky eater, and he adores mushrooms, so both he and I would love this. We may just have to make it over the weekend. Thank you for sharing!

  8. Ha ha, love this recipe. The simple ones are always the best!🙂 I can’t function in the mornings till I’ve eaten at least something that can be described as breakfast.
    We’re lucky in Turkey to be able to buy village eggs with deep, yellow yolks so this recipe is great for us.

  9. eatgreek.net Says:

    this stuffed mushrooms looks great!😀

  10. RavieNomNoms Says:

    That looks really yummy! Thanks for sharing!

  11. Mgoh Says:

    absolutely delicious and beautiful

  12. norma Says:

    This will definitely replace my steak and eggs…You just gave me a great idea. Will let you know when I post it and give you crdit of course.

  13. Chef Dennis Says:

    I have to say that is an eggcellent idea!! I love portabella’s and I don’t eat that many eggs, but I do enjoy them…what a perfect way to indulge!

  14. Duh! Why didn’t I think of this? 🙂 That is the perfect little egg holder.. Beautiful presentation, thank you!

  15. Roxan Says:

    YUM what a wonderful way to have mushrooms! My husband doesn’t like most vegetables but he does love mushrooms. I guess he is the opposite of your hubby🙂

  16. Never thought to make a breakfast like this one…my husband would love it! I’m so glad it’s the weekend and I have a few extra minutes for breakfast prep in the mornings to give it a shot🙂 Thanks!

  17. Susi Says:

    So simple, but yet so genius!!! I’m a HUGE mushroom and egg lover and this looks incredible. All I would need on the side is a slice of bread to dip into my egg yolk. Nicely done :o)

  18. fooddreamer Says:

    Oh, I just love this! What a great idea! I never, ever skip breakfast, I get way too hungry. I eat a lot of omelets, but it’s nice to have this as an alternative. Thanks!

  19. Laura Says:

    Great idea! I love eggs and mushrooms!

  20. Spice Sherpa Says:

    You are so clever!! I can think of all sorts of variations on this but not without trying your easy-to-follow instructions first. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

