Not too little, not too much

Vegetables Bulgur Pilaf 10/19/2010

Yesterday, while reading  Yesim’s blog ( http://yesimstylekitchen.blogspot.com/2010/07/bulghur-pilaf-with-eggplant-etli-bulgur.html if you like Turkish cuisine you should pay her a visit) my mind took me back, years ago, to my first trip to Turkey. Back then I wasn’t paying so much attention to food (not that I do now) and tried for the first time bulgur, I still remember the dish bulgur piluvi. Tho the nut-like flavor, the taste, the feel were new to me I enjoyed it and asked for seconds. Years past and I got married and one day I cooked some bulgur for my husband (who’s the pickiest eater I’ve ever met) liked it too and since then every time I make bulgur or rice I have to make at least 4  servings 😛

Bulgur is a type of cracked wheat that has been steam-cooked and dried. Because of this, it does not require as much cooking time as other whole-wheat products. Bulgur is used for making tabbouleh (a well-known Middle East cuisine favorite), cereal, and pilaf. It is available in a variety of grinds, from fine to coarse or from #1 to #4.

 

 

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup bulgur

2 onions

2-3 tomatoes

1 potato

1-2 zucchini

chili pepper, mine was a habanero

3 cups stock

olive oil

dill, mint (fresh is possible)

salt, pepper

 

 

Directions

 

Heat a little oil in a heavy based pan and cook the onion and chili

 

 

Add the bulgur and diced potato, stir well and cook for 1 more minute.

 

Add 2 1/2cups of stock and tomatoes and simmer until almost all the stock has been absorbed.

 

Since I don’t like mushy zucchini I added them almost when the bulgur is done with another 1/2 cup stock.

 

Simmer for 3-5 more minutes,  add chopped dill and mint, remove from heat, cover and let rest for about 10 minutes.

 

Serve warm as a side or main dish.

 

 

 

13 Responses to “Vegetables Bulgur Pilaf”

  1. Monet Says:

    This looks beautiful. My husband and I want to visit Turkey the next time we go overseas. I love bulgur salads…the fresh mint adds such brightness. Thank you for sharing.

  2. I haven’t cooked with bulgur for too long now! Thanks for the reminder of this delicious grain…your pilaf is beautiful and inspirational🙂

  3. vegangela Says:

    This looks so great, and I love bulgur because it cooks so quickly! Buzzed+Saved!

  4. Lisa Says:

    This sounds healthy and delicious. And love the photo. I want to reach inside my computer and take a spoonful (=

  5. mangocheeks Says:

    This looks really comforting and warming. Perfect for an autumnal evening.

    Thaks for the link to, I do like Turkish cuisine.

  6. norma Says:

    I enhjoy bulgur very much. I have made may dishes. Yours looks fabulous.

  7. I’m so happy to read this post! I’ve been trying out new grains recently and bulgur is next on my list.

  8. I love rice pilaf. This looks like the perfect side dish.

  9. fooddreamer Says:

    I love bulgur pilaf and yours looks so good with all those fresh veggies. I have to try this!

  10. Simona Says:

    I could have a portion right now! I haven’t cooked bulgur in a long time and I should amend that.

  11. Yesim Says:

    Tx you so much for posting this and about Turkish cuisine, sorr i ve missed this post before.. happy that u like it , and next time to visit Turkey, u should definetly see me:)

  12. The Mom Chef Says:

    That looks fantastic. I’ve not been to Turkey but have spent a lot of time in Armenia.

  13. Melinda Says:

    Thank you for the great recipe. I will be cooking this one today. I have only ever used bulgur in tabbouleh and kibbeh.


Leave a Reply

