Not too little, not too much

Death by Chocolate Cheesecake 10/12/2010

Few days ago my baby girl turned 11 months so, as every month, I had to make a cake to celebrate. I really didn’t know what to do, I wanted a cheesecake but in the same time I wanted chocolate so I decided to go with a chocolate cheesecake. Easier said than done, by the time I manage to free my hands and get Tiffany out of the kitchen I told myself that a cheesecake is not actually a birthday cake so I went back to the idea of having a cake. Browsing through my recipes I laid my eyes on a Death by chocolate cake and my mouth started drooling, if that’s not a sign, that I give up.

 

 

I like chocolate cakes, actually I love chocolate cakes but I was in the mood some for cheese too so instead of using a chocolate filling why not use, let me think, oh yes, a cheesecake filling.

That seemed to be the  perfect cake, now all I needed to do is start making it.

Death by chocolate cake

Ingredients

8 oz chocolate chips

4 oz butter

2/3 cup milk

1 1/4 cup sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

2/3 cup sour cream

2 cups self-raising flour

1 tsp baking powder

 

 

Directions

 

Place chocolate, butter and milk in a saucepan. Heat gently until smooth.

 

Remove from heat and add sugar and vanilla. Mix well, let it cool for a while.

 

In a large bowl beat the egg yolks and  sour cream.

 

Add the chocolate mixture to it.

 

Sift the flour and baking powder and fold in.

 

Whisk the egg whites until stiff; fold into the mixture.

 

Preheat the oven at 350F. Pour the mixture into a greased 10 inch cake pan and bake for 45-50 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean. (the recipe is for a 8 inch cake but i didn’t want it too tall so I used a wider cake pan)

 

Cool in the pan for 15-20 minutes then invert to a wire rack to cool.

 

When is completely cooled slice the cake in 3 layers, 2  thinner (bottom and top), about half-inch each and 1 (the middle) thicker, about 1 inch.

 

Leave the bottom and top to a side and with a large cookie cutter or a knife cut 5 rings out of the middle layer. Carefully, separate in 2 parts.

 

 

Cover the cake pan with foil. Place one of the thin layers in the bottom and then 3 rings.

 

Set aside while making the cheesecake filling.

 

Cheesecake filling – is actually a no bake cheesecake, one of those desserts that you lie shamelessly telling everyone how hard it is to make such a creamy, delicious  and no top cracks cheesecake, he he he, does that ring a bell?

Ingredients and Directions

2 8 oz packages cream cheese

1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk

juice from 1 lemon

vanilla extract

 

In a large bowl beat the cream cheese slowly adding the milk.

 

Add the fresh squeezed lemon juice and vanilla extract. Beat until smooth.

 

With a piping bag fill the 2 spaces between the cake rings with cheesecake filling.

 

Lay the other 2 rings on top of the cheesecake and fill the 3 spaces.

 

Cover with the remaining thin layer and foil and refrigerate over night.

 

Next day take the cake out of the fridge, remove from the pan and foil and set aside while making the frosting.

 

White chocolate cheesecake frosting – after all it is a death by chocolate cake, so why not add some chocolate to the frosting

Ingredients and directions

8 oz white chocolate

2 8 oz packages cream cheese

1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk

juice from 1 lemon

 

Melt the chocolate and mix it with the milk

 

In a bowl beat the cream cheese while slowly adding the chocolate milk mixture

 

Add the lemon juice and beat until smooth.

 

Frost the cake

 

Usually half of the frosting would be enough, but my husband loves a cake with lots of frosting, but you can only make out of 1 package of cream cheese and half can of condensed milk.

 

Refrigerate the cake for at least 2 hours before the final touches.

 

 

closer

 

stay away, the cake is all mine

 

 

41 Responses to “Death by Chocolate Cheesecake”

  1. Monet Says:

    What an impressive cake! I would have been so intimidated to give this a try, but you pulled it off with amazing ease and skill! What a wonderful cake to celebrate your daughter with! I adore cheesecake and chocolate (who doesn’t?) so this looks like a real winner to me!

  2. Dimah Says:

    Great photos! That looks super delicious!

  3. Angela Says:

    Wow, that looks sinful – I love how the filling looks checkered!🙂

  4. OMG…we became foodbuzz friends at just the right time! I LOVE cake…I don’t bake anything quite this fancy!! I’m not veg, but I’m always looking for/trying veg recipes b/c my sister in law is vegan, and I like to have options for her when she hang out!

  5. Susi Says:

    Great looking cake! I’m really impressed, not sure I would have had to the patience to put this together :o)

  6. Chef Dennis Says:

    now this cake is perfection!! I would absolutely love a big slice of that cake! What a great idea mixing a delicious chocolate cake, with a smooth creamy cheesecake! You really outdid yourself with this creation!

  7. lespicekitchen Says:

    Yummmm.. I am drying to try this. Looks super delicious

  8. Anna Says:

    Wow…how pretty…and looks delicious too.

  9. This cheesecake looks so fancy. Wow

  10. What a cleaver and beautiful cake! Great job!!! PS – I am really hungry right now and wish I had a slice of that in front of me right now. 🙂

  11. Kocinera Says:

    Gorgeous cake! I love the cute pattern and the combination of regular cake and cheesecake.

  12. Way to make a challenging cake look easy and lovely! This is quite impressive and your decorating skills are amazing! Good for you! It looks so delicious!!

  13. fooddreamer Says:

    Wow, now THAT is a cake. It looks like a ton of work but the resulting effect is incredible! Happy 11 months to your baby (mine just turned 1 year!).

  14. Yesim Says:

    woow, it looks so good, i like cheesecake:)

  15. norma Says:

    Thanks for the add in Foodbuzz. Love your blog and I just started to follow you. This cake looks scrumpcious.

  16. Heather Says:

    Such a beautiful cake! I’ve always wondered how patterns like that are put into cakes.

  17. liz Says:

    Beautiful!!!!

  18. Damaris Says:

    oh my gosh this is so insanely brilliant

  19. eatgreek.net Says:

    oh my god! i think I’m dead!!!!😛
    excellent recipe! I’ll give it a try! ^_^

  20. Janice Says:

    What a way to go.
    Beautiful.

  21. Debbie Says:

    Sneaky Sneaky with a no bake cheesecake, I was wondering how you got the checkered look, brilliant! I love the cakes you always make, can’t imagine trying them once a month, bravo to you!

  22. i always seem to have the same reaction to your blog posts. WOW! Beautiful and how did you ever have the patience to put this gorgeous thing together? Who knew that step by step photos of baking a Death by Chocolate cake could look like art? Nicely done!

  23. Stephanie Says:

    That does sound deadly, in a good way! Thanks for the step by step pictures, I never realized how simple it was to get that checkered look in a cake. Looks great!

  24. WOW! I wouldn’t attempt this, but you certainly pulled it off! Great job and wonderful step-by-step photos. Death by chocolate, indeed – but what a way to go! Yay, for baby girl’s first steps (I saw that on Monet’s site) – what joy🙂

  25. Sara & Miki Says:

    These look fantastic! Spectacular site!

  26. wow! so beautiful:) you did a fantastic job…. bravo!

  27. Wow, this is truly impressive!!! I just love the checkerboard pattern when it is cut, looks amazing. Great skill to make this, and clever idea!🙂

  28. Karen Says:

    Beautiful cake! I always wondered how the checkerboard effect was achieved…
    It looks absolutely heavenly!

  29. January Says:

    that looks simply delicious! great job on the checkerboard!🙂

  30. wow this looks amazing but not only that the work that went into creating the masterpiece! wow!

  31. coolblogger Says:

    honestly , havent seen cake this lovely before.

  32. Patty Says:

    Now that’s a stylish cake. I bet it tastes as awesome as it looks!

  33. Shirley Says:

    So that’s how checkerboard cakes are done! They’ve been a big mystery to me. I’ve never seen a checkerboard cheesecake before, but it looks wonderful! Chocolate and cheesecake… what could be better?

  34. Sommer J Says:

    This looks so amazing! Bet it tastes even better! Excellent job!

  35. This cake is gorgeous! I love you other healthy recipes from the last few days…but this cake! What a wonderful cake to celebrate your daughter with:)

  36. Iris Says:

    That is the coolest cake! I’ve never been good at making pretty cakes, but it looks like you’ve got that down. And chocolate cake plus cheesecake? Such a smart idea!

  37. Jessica Says:

    Wow, this looks great! I’ve always wondered how to make checkered cakes…now I know!

  38. Pearl Says:

    good thing I don’t have cream cheese in the house. great cake for special company tho. so creative for presentation and tastes decadent I’d bet.

  39. FOODESSA Says:

    Oh gosh…I’m so glad I came scoping around some of your past posts. To think I would have missed this masterpiece.

    Brava…on a luscious cheesecake creation so well executed ;o))

    Flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

  40. Sue Says:

    You are so ambitious and creative! Seriously!


Leave a Reply

