Not too little, not too much

Stuffed Delicata Squash with Barley Salad 10/09/2010

The other day when I was into town I bought 2 delicata squashes thinking what a flavorful soup I’m going to make out of them, but of course I changed my mind and today I decided and stuff them with some fall salad. So, browsing the internet I ran into some recipes more or less tempting. I picked something from each one and came up with my version with stuffed delicata, of course mostly based on what I already had in my pantry😛

 

 

Ingredients

2 delicata squashes*

1/3 cup pearl barley

1 small apple

1 small carrot

2 green onions

parsley

pine nuts

dried cranberries

olive oil

salt and pepper

*my husband doesn’t like baked squash so I only baked one for me and Tiffany, my baby girl

 

 

Preheat the oven to 350°. Cut the squashes lengthwise and seed them. Brush the squash with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Place the squash cut side down on a baking sheet and roast for about 45 minutes.
Meanwhile, in a small saucepan heat a little olive oil and fry the barley for 2-3 minutes.
Add 2/3 cup water, salt and pepper. Cover and cook over low heat until all the water is absorbed and the grains are tender. Leave it to cool slightly in the pan.
Toast the pine nuts, dice the carrot and apple, chop and onion and parsley and mix them all. Add your favorite dressing (in my case lemon juice and extra virgin olive oil) and toss well.
Add the cooled barley to the salad and mix.
When the squashes are cooked fill them with barley salad.
Serve immediately.
 

9 Responses to “Stuffed Delicata Squash with Barley Salad”

  1. Monet Says:

    I adore delicata squash. I went to pick some up at the market today, and I was so disappointed to see that they were already sold out! The next time I get my hand on a few…I’m making this recipe. Brilliant idea! Thanks for sharing love.

  2. Chef Dennis Says:

    What a gorgeous stuffed sqaush! I just bought two of those squash at our farmers market yesterday!!
    Now that your back into the swing of things, would you be willing to do a guest post for me? Let me know if your interested, just drop me an email at drayden4@verizon.net
    Dennis

  3. Carolyn Says:

    You are ROCKIN’ the squash recipes lately. We “won” a butternut squash at a local festival the other day and I immediately thought of your soup with tahini. This stuffed squash looks wonderful too.

  4. Christina Says:

    This looks like a perfect fall dish! I will have to make this…I love the apple mixed in! Yummy!🙂

  5. I’ve never tried delicata squash before but your photos make me want to go out and buy some right now. Wonderful recipe!

  6. The squash is so unique. It’s beautiful and I love the way you presented the dish in the hollowed-out gourd. You’ve done an incredible job with it. Thanks for sharing.

  7. lespicekitchen Says:

    Wow this dish is bursting with freshness. My mouth water just looking at it🙂

  8. wonderful recipe ! great posts, keep it up !

  9. I love squash of all types…I must make a trip to Farmers Market.
    This is such a great presentation and wow on the flavors🙂


Leave a Reply

