Not too little, not too much

Butternut Squash and Tahini Soup 10/07/2010

Filed under: Soups,Vegan,Vegetarian — Roxana GreenGirl {A little bit of everything} @ 16:10
Tags: , , , , ,

Yesterday I made a risotto with a Asian touch, so staying on the same continent I thought that a Middle Eastern touch is what a basic butternut squash needs

 

 

Ingredients

 

1-2 tbsp olive oil

onion

red pepper flakes

~ 2 lbs butternut squash

1-2 sweet potatoes (optional)

1 cup red lentils

5 cups stock

2-3 tbsp Tahiti paste

 

 

Heat the oil and add the onion and pepper flakes. Cook over medium heat for 2-3 minutes or until the onion is soft.

 

 

Reduce the heat to low add the squash and potato (if using), cover and cook for 5-7 minutes stirring from time to time.

 

Add the stock and lentils and simmer until the soup is cooked.

 

 

Leave it to cool for a little bit and puree it in a food processor or blender. Return to pan, add the Tahiti paste heating gently.

 

Serve hot.

 

 

 

16 Responses to “Butternut Squash and Tahini Soup”

  1. Evan @swEEts Says:

    I need to go and buy another butternut squash.. So many amazing recipes out here calling for em!

  2. Monet Says:

    I can only imagine the richness and depth of flavor the tahini must add to this soup. I love tahini, and I’ve been adding it to everything from casseroles to milkshakes. This looks like another great way to use it. Thank you for sharing such a unique and flavorful Fall soup.

  3. Lisa Says:

    Interesting flavors. Sounds delicious. Where have you been? Glad you’re back (=

  4. I had my first taste of butternut squash last year and couldn’t get enough of it! Thanks for this post!

  5. fooddreamer Says:

    This sounds great, it never would have occured to me to add tahini. I am saving this one!

  6. Chef Dennis Says:

    what a great soup!! I have been wondering what else I can do with tahini!
    Sweet potatoes and lentils….this soup is so much more than just butternut…what a wonderful blend of flavors! I think I may have to make this soup at school!

  7. Butternut squash is one of my all-time favorite vegetables! I bet this tastes wonderful!

  8. stephchows Says:

    ooo i am ALL over this soup! delicious!

  9. florina Says:

    I love butternut squash soup, and yours looks delicious. Great job!

  10. Gorgeous soup…Wow, love this🙂

  11. Wonderful! I love the addition of Tahini, I’m sure it adds a wonderful nutty flavor to the squash! Great idea, thanks for sharing!

  12. elra Says:

    Hello, I haven’t had any chance to say thank you for being an online friend on Foodbuzz. Thank you🙂

    What a talented cook you are. This look superb !


Leave a Reply

