Not too little, not too much

Oregano Ricotta Knots and more awards 11/23/2010

Filed under: Awards,Baking,Breads,Cheese — Roxana GreenGirl {A little bit of everything} @ 23:35
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I know, I said I’m not going to post any recipe by Thanksgiving but I have some recipes I didn’t have time to write about when I made them and if I don’t post know I have the feeling I’m not going to do it soon. Plus, I still have to give the Lovely Blog Award to 30 more bloggers.

Today I’m going to share with you a Oregano Ricotta Knots recipe. Those of you who don’t like baking will say : ahhhh, another baking recipe but this is an easy one, actually I rarely do hard ones (I’m afraid of failure).

The ricotta cheese makes the knots stay moist even after 2-3 days, but for best results serve them warm to appreciate the oregano flavor.

Let’s start baking.

Gather on your working bench

4 cups all-purpose flour

1 package dry yeast

~ 1 1/2 cup warm milk

1/4 cup ricotta cheese

2-3 tsp dry oregano

2 tbsp butter

1 egg for brushing

and leave them at room temperature for about 30 minutes to an hour.


In a small bowl cream the dry yeast with a little lukewarm milk. Leave aside 5 minutes or so.

In the mixer’s bowl mix flour, ricotta, oregano, diced butter and yeast mixture.

Slowly add enough milk to form a soft dough.

Place the dough into a greased bowl, cover with foil and leave until doubles in volume.

Divide the dough into 12 balls

Take one piece of dough and roll it on your working surface into a rope.

Lift one end of the rope over the other to make a loop. Push the end through the hole to make a knot.

Place the knots on baking sheets, cover with foil and leave to rest for about 30-40 minutes or until doubled in size. Brush them with egg wash.

Bake them in preheated oven at 425F for 16-17 minutes or until golden brown.

 

inside view

 

 

Yesterday I posted the list with 15 lovely blog, tonight I’m going to post 15 more blogs and for the rest 15 please let me know which blog you think deserves the award and I didn’t mention.

1. Lisa from Korean American Mommy

2. Sara from CaffeIna

3.Andreea from Andrea’ s wellness notes

4.  Raven from Ravie Nom Noms Blog

5. Nancy from Spicie Foodie

6. Lindsey from Gingerbread Cake

7. Koci from La Kocinera

 

 

8. Yesim from Yesim Style Kitchen

 

 

9. Zerin from Give Recipe

 

 

10. Dionne from Try Anything Once

11. Cardamom Hills

12. Spice Sherpa

13. Black Book Kitchen Diaries

14. Torview

last but not the least, ladies first, right?

15. Chef Dennis from More than a Mount Full

I also want to thank you all for you kind comments, they make me go on and brighten my day. From the bottom of my heart a big Thank you

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you, hope you are surrounded by great people and delicious food

 

34 Responses to “Oregano Ricotta Knots and more awards”

  1. Dimah Says:

    These look absolutely fantastic! Beautiful photos!

  2. FOODESSA Says:

    These Ricotta knots need much more Ricotta…LOL. This is exactly what my Hubby will ask me when I’ll make these treats.
    They look wonderful ;o)

    Thanks for sharing and congrats to your award recipients ;o)

    Ciao for now,
    Claudia

  3. norma Says:

    These are just perfect. I want some NOW!!!!!

  4. [...] after 2-3 days, but for best results serve them warm to appreciate the oregano flavor…read more @ Oregano Ricotta Knots Recipe Posted by Green Girl at [...]

  5. Those look so cute, and so goooood, I bet the oregano gives a particularly rich and fragrant touch to it.

  6. Absolutely beautiful, and light as a feather rolls. Really helpful step-by-step photos, as well. This would be so perfect for the holiday table.
    HAPPY THANKSGIVING to you and your family!

  7. Yesim Says:

    looks great and tx for the award…

  8. Chef Dennis Says:

    Your oregano knots look so very very good! What a perfect little roll!!
    And thank you so much for thinking of me with your award, I am honored!
    You put me in with a group of such outstanding bloggers too, thank you so much!
    I hope you had a wonderful thanksgiving!
    Dennis

  9. Happy Thanksgiving! I wish I had some of these puffy little oregano knots at dinner today!

  10. Monet Says:

    Hi sweet friend! Don’t these rolls just look heavenly?!? Wow! I would have a hard time not eating them all. I love using ricotta cheese in my yeast breads. Such great flavor and texture. Thank you for sharing. I hope you have a great weekend!

  11. These look amazing! Can’t wait to try them!

  12. Dimah Says:

    Hi,
    I’ve an award for you (The Versatile Blogger Award), please come and pick it up when you’re free

    http://www.orangeblossomwater.net/index.php/awards/

  13. vertange Says:

    Yummy! I will try to make it for my classmates :)

  14. I can use few of those knots ;)

  15. fooddreamer Says:

    Those look so good…soft and slightly chewy and flavourful. Yum. Hope you had a good Thanksgiving.

  16. Congrats on rocking the Lovely Blog Award! You so deserve it, times 10 :) These rolls look delicious–the addition of ricotta is so unusual, but wonderful at the same time!

  17. Aipi Says:

    Wow..these look buttery, flaky n melt in mouth kinds..great pictorials too!
    congrats on your awards :)

    US Masala

  18. Julie M. Says:

    Thank you so much for thinking of me with this award! I’m honored that you thought of me!

    I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  19. These are truly beautiful rolls, and their golden brown color is truly perfection!

  20. Thank you so much! I am VERY flattered that you thought of me, especially considering who you chose as well! Thank you thank you!

    You know, whenever I see lovely knot rolls I always think of them as delicious & melt-in-your-mouth-good. They also seem very complicated. In your step by step photos and instructions this really seems like something I could actually do!

    I tend to have a slight fear of failure as well. I’m trying to get over that by sharing my failures in my blog and becoming more comfortable with it because it’s supposed to be “normal”. Still don’t like it.

    You did an excellent job on these rolls. Trade you for some pani popo? :D

  21. well deserved award delicious ricotta knots
    thank you for sharing this award with me I posted it in my awards page

    http://torviewtoronto.blogspot.com/p/awards-and-publications.html

  22. Jessica Says:

    Oh man, these look and sound awesome! They look fun to make, too…I’ve never tied dough in knots. :)

  23. Kocinera Says:

    Thank you so much for the award!! Those ricotta knots look super delicious, by the way! :)

  24. ravienomnoms Says:

    Thank you so much!!! So amazing that you mentioned me :-)

  25. mj Says:

    I have been pondering over baking these for sometime now…maybe for dinner tonite=) the pics luk great…n thank you soo much for the award!!

  26. These ricotta knots are GORGEOUS! I have to try this recipe. I hope mine turn out as pretty as yours did. I hope you are having a relaxing weekend:)

  27. The knots look amazing!!! I’m not much of a baker (I can’t seem to follow a recipe and always end up doing my own thing, which doesn’t work well when it comes to baking…). But I the knots make me want to try again! :)

    Thank you so much for the award! I really appreciate it! I hope you are enjoying your weekend!

  28. gingerbreadcake Says:

    Those oregano ricotta knots looks sooooo good and beautiful! Thank you so much for the award! :)

  29. Spice Sherpa Says:

    Thank you for the award and to share the page with ricotta oregano knots is so appropriate given the oregano and my Italian heritage. :-)

    Love your posts and presentations.Thank you!

  30. Lisa Says:

    Thank you so much for the award! I really appreciate it (=

  31. I my goodness these are fantastic…And they look so perfect as knots. What a great combination of flavor and such unique texture :) Congrats to your to the blogs you are extending awards to :)

  32. Sara Says:

    Thank you very much for the award and sorry for being so late in coming over to receive it. Now I’m very sorry because I just saw this wonderful recipe! How could I miss this one. Oregano and ricotta knots. I totally love ricotta in breads. It makes the dough so soft and fresh. Great job.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers