Not too little, not too much

Buttermilk Crescents 10/25/2010

Filed under: Breads,Breakfast — Roxana GreenGirl {A little bit of everything} @ 20:15
Tags: , , , , , ,

About two weeks ago Monet from Anecdotes and apple cores wrote about croissants and french bakeries http://anecdotesandapples.weebly.com/1/post/2010/10/croissants.html . Reading her post i remembered that as much as I love buttery croissants i hate making buttermilk biscuits. I know probably are the easiest thing to do but I hate making them. Few days later I was thinking why not combining croissants with buttermilk? The thought put a smile on my face and start browsing in search for a recipe; after reading few recipes i decided to go with the one from Taraduff’s crochet and other stuff http://taraduffstuff.blogspot.com/2009/09/buttermilk-crescent-rolls.html but changing it a little bit to suit my taste.

Ingredients (my way)

4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 sachet dry yeast

1/3 cup milk

1 cup buttermilk

2 eggs

1/2 cup + 2-3 tbsp butter

1 tbsp sugar (optional)

1 tsp salt

Directions

Sift the flour and mix it with the salt and sugar and make a well in the center. Cream the yeast with the lukewarm milk and pour it into the well. Leave it about 5 minutes.

Add the eggs, 1/2 cup soften butter and lukewarm buttermilk.

Mix well for few minutes adding a little flour or milk if needed.

In a greased bowl leave the dough to raise until it doubles in volume.

Divide the dough in 2 balls and roll it out using a rolling-pin.

Brush it with melted mutter and cut it into 12 triangles.

Roll each triangle up starting with the wide side. Place them on baking trays and leave them to raise again.

Bake in preheated oven at 350 F for 15-17 minutes.

inside view :P

 

20 Responses to “Buttermilk Crescents”

  1. Those rolls look SO good! The perfect dinner roll. Unfortunately they look so good that I’d probably eat about 10 of them before we got to dinner!

  2. Your crescent rolls look fantastic! I too would be devouring the plate in no time flat :) Yum!

  3. Monet Says:

    Thank you for mentioning me! You are too sweet. These look far easier and just as delicious as my croissants. I actually have some buttermilk in my fridge that is in need of good use. Thank you for giving me a recipe to try! These would be perfect with a big bowl of soup. I hope you have a wonderful Tuesday.

  4. Kocinera Says:

    How cool! I’ve never tried crescents made with buttermilk, but they sound delicious! I love how light and fluffy they are!

  5. eatgreek.net Says:

    excellent recipe!!! good job!!! :D

  6. January Says:

    wow, your buttermilk crescents look so delicious! and your recipe makes it easy for us to follow. thanks for posting!

  7. Nicely done! Could just get full on these. Forget the meal.

  8. I remember Monet’s post! I’ve never tried making croissants myself, but do love eating them :) I’m totally with you on the biscuit situation–I actually posted a couple weeks ago about my complete failure to produce the flaky, buttery, Southern biscuits that are a lont-standing tradition in my family. Maybe I’d have better luck with buttermilk croissants?!

  9. Dimah Says:

    Your rolls are gorgeous! Thanks for sharing!

  10. fooddreamer Says:

    These look just like pillsbury rolls, except homemade and without all the hydrogenated junk in them. Bravo! I bet they were delicious.

  11. Oh how I love these! These would not last very long in our house! Maybe an hour or two hehe (=

  12. RavieNomNoms Says:

    Those look super duper yummy!

  13. Dr.Sameena Says:

    Hi,

    Your rolls are gorgeous…yummy…:)

    Dr.Sameena@

    http://www.myeasytocookrecipes.blogspot.com

  14. Ok, confession. I’m reading your post thinking, “What the–I’ve only made crescent rolls from a CAN!” They look amazing!

  15. They look so tasty. Really interesting too. I wish I wasn’t so cack-handed so mine would look as good as yours!

  16. norma Says:

    you make this look so easy, I would be tempted to try.

  17. Beautiful! I don’t bake much, but your crescents make me want to try again… :)

  18. These look just perfect. I haven’t baked rolls in a long time, but your blog post is encouraging me.

  19. [...] Buttermilk Crescents (A Little Bit of Everything) These must be a million times better than the crescent rolls from a tube! A great recipe to serve with your holiday meal. [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers